There’s something comfortingly incontrovertible about photographs. I know that queer people have always been here. I know we’re everywhere. I know that queerness exists in infinite variations. It’s why I read so many queer books, every kind I can get my hands on. But seeing the evidence of that is a different kind of knowing. It’s powerful to look at photographs of queer people thriving and celebrating. It’s powerful to look at photos of queer history, to see the faces of the people who have made my life — so many queer lives — possible. It’s powerful to see photos of queer people just being: washing the dishes, lounging around their houses, walking in the woods. And it’s powerful to look at art that is distinctly queer, photographers in which artists explore what queerness means to them. These eight books are just a few of the queer photo books out there. I’ve focused mostly on books of contemporary photos rather than historical ones. I’ve also chosen to highlight books of portraits. Looking at portraits of queer people is a way to see and be seen. These portraits, for me, have been mirrors and windows and bridges and portals. They remind me that I’m here, and also that my way of being queer is just one of many, that there are infinite queer possibilities and stories out there, and that all of them deserve to be seen and celebrated. These eight are only the beginning! If you’re looking for more gorgeousness, definitely checkout this list of queer photo books from 2020. There’s almost no overlap, which means hundreds more amazing photos of queer people and queer history for you to enjoy!

To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 44To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 97To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 17To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 78To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 37To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 25To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 94To See   Be Seen  8 Powerful Queer Photo Books - 93