Celebrate Hobbit Day on September 22 by reading this great modern classic and the prelude to The Lord of the Rings.Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum. Now, I’m less sure which character I’m most similar to. The characters now read to me as archetypes, ideal heroes of the past. I see a bit of myself in each — in Tom Bombadil’s joy and love of stories, in Samwise’s dedication to those he loves, in Arwen’s steadfastness, and in Gandalf’s combination of mischievousness and wisdom. So, for me, there’s no wrong answer to this The Lord of the Rings quiz but, much like my sisters and I did as children, it’s still fun to think about who I’m most like! Want more The Lord of the Rings content? Check out my guide to LOTR Myers-Briggs personality types, take the hardest LOTR quiz ever (I did not pass it), and check out this fascinating glimpse into LOTR fandom.

Quiz  Which The Lord of the Rings Character Are You  - 67Quiz  Which The Lord of the Rings Character Are You  - 99